Broker Check

Blog

Monday, December 5, 2022

In our last piece, we introduced the importance of saving, which is the first of five basics that have served investors well over time. Today, we’ll look at where stock market returns really come from, and why that matters to...

Friday, November 25, 2022

In our last piece, we wrote about how recency bias can damage your investments by causing current crises to loom large, while rewriting your memories of past challenges. Recency tricks us into overpaying during heady times, and bailing...

Friday, November 11, 2022

There were so many big events competing for our attention during the summer of 2022 … said nearly every investor, almost every summer.  We’re not making light of this: Inflation is real, but so is recency bias.

Friday, October 21, 2022

In a recent piece, we explored how to invest available cash: Should you invest it all right away as a lump sum? Or are you better off wading in more gradually with dollar-cost averaging? In round one, we discussed why lump-sum...

Friday, October 7, 2022

Good news – you have an extra $24,000, and you’ve decided to invest it in the stock market. It’s always nice to have investable cash on hand. But you also might feel as if the pressure is on. Nobody enjoys seeing the...

Show All

Tuesday, September 27, 2022

As financial advisors, we help people attain financial independence. Usually, our personalized planning conversations are enough to help them establish a healthy, happy relationship with their money. But sometimes, we uncover bigger...

Monday, September 5, 2022

Are your investments liquid or illiquid? When a holding is liquid, it simply means you can sell it anytime the market in which it trades is open for business, without losing your proverbial shirt in the exchange. If it’s illiquid...

Friday, August 26, 2022

There’s been a lot of talk about recessions lately: Whether one is near, far, or perhaps already here. Whether we can or should try to avoid it. What it even means to be in a recession, and how it’s related to current...

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Even though we know it was just dumb luck, can we get a round of applause for seeming to forecast last month’s surprisingly strong market returns? It’s almost (but not really) as if the market were reading our mind when...

Monday, July 11, 2022

Intellectual well-being can also be called lifelong learning and is a dimension that you probably do not think too much about…but maybe you should now that you are retired.There are so many opportunities for continued learning...

Tuesday, July 5, 2022

In a previous blog, Want a Fulfilling Retirement? Your Physical Wellbeing Makes All the Difference, we discussed the importance of staying physically healthy so you can have the retirement you’ve envisioned. Now, we’ll get...

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Wellness is more than being free from illness; it is a dynamic process of evolving and growing. Maintaining wellness in your life is very important to ensure quality of life, especially in retirement. Everything you do and every...

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

You’ve probably been told several times throughout your life that it’s important to have an emergency fund; most financial advisors recommend that you have 3-6 months of living expenses in an account that you can easily...

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

It’s easy to feel a little smug about your investments when the market is up. You feel confident you’re on the right path and that your dream retirement is just around the corner.But when the market starts jumping around as...

Thursday, April 21, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Monday, December 20, 2021

Monday, December 6, 2021

Monday, November 15, 2021